The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency will begin enforcing the Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance Law in November.
During the 2016 legislative session a law was passed and to mandate that all Alabama motorists have liability insurance.
Beginning Wednesday, Nov. 1, those who choose to drive without liability insurance will face a civil penalty.
The MLI law provides that no person shall operate, register or maintain registration of a motor vehicle designed to be used on a public road or highway unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy.
“There has been a grace period in enforcing that law to give motorists time to obtain the proper insurance coverage,” Alabama’s Secretary of Law Enforcement Hal Taylor said, “Beginning Nov. 1, motorists are subject to a civil penalty if involved in a motor vehicle incident, the vehicle you are operating is not covered by the state’s mandatory liability insurance and you are not issued a citation for no insurance at the time of the incident.”
Taylor said a first offense is $200, second offense is $300 and third or subsequent offenses are $400 each.
Taylor said those individuals will face a 90-day driver’s license suspension if they do not pay the civil penalty within 45 days or request a hearing with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s Driver License Division. The cost to reinstate a driver’s license is $100.
If a driver is issued a civil penalty, due process provides the option to appeal and a hearing will be conducted to determine whether the motor vehicle being operated at the time of the motor vehicle incident was in compliance, Taylor said.
“It just makes sense to have liability insurance on your vehicle because operating a motor vehicle without it drives up everyone’s rates,” Alabama Department of Insurance Commissioner Jim Ridling said. “Do the right thing, and follow Alabama’s Mandatory Liability Insurance laws to help stabilize rates for Alabama insurance consumers.