The Alabama High School Athletic Association’s Central Board approved new classifications for member schools on Tuesday, Dec. 17, and as a result a number of area schools are on the move starting in the 2020-2021 school year.

Enterprise High School will remain in Class 7A but will be joined by Dothan High. Both Daleville and New Brockton will move up from Class 2A to Class 3A, while Elba moves up from Class 1A to Class 2A.

Both Geneva and Straughn move up from Class 3A to 4A, as well. Andalusia moves up from Class 4A to Class 5A.

In football, Enterprise will remain in Class 7A, Region 2 and will be joined by Dothan. The other teams will be Central-Phenix City, Jeff Davis, Auburn, Prattville and Smiths Station. R.E. Lee dropped down to Class 6A along with McGill-Toolen.

New Brockton and Daleville will both play in Class 3A, Region 2 with Houston Academy, Opp, Providence Christian, Slocomb and Wicksburg.

This is the first time that New Brockton has ever been in a classification above Class 2A. The Gamecocks have played in Class 2A for the majority of the school’s history, but played in Class 1A for two years in the 1990s and four years in the 1970s.

Daleville has spent the majority of the school’s history in Class 3A and Class 4A, however. The Warhawks moved to Class 2A in 2018.

Elba spent just two seasons in Class 1A and will now return to Class 2A, where the school won two state championships between 2011 and 2015. The Tigers will be in Region 2 with Zion Chapel, Abbeville, Ariton, Cottonwood, Geneva County, Houston County and G.W. Long. Zion Chapel moves from Region 3 to Region 2. Elba had previously played in Class 2A, Region 3 in years past.

In volleyball, Enterprise will remain in Class 7A, Area 3 and will be joined by Dothan, Jeff Davis and Prattville.

Daleville will play in Class 3A, Area 3 with Houston Academy, Slocomb and Wicksburg. New Brockton will play in Class 3A, Area 4 with Goshen, Opp and Pike County.

Enterprise will remain in Class 7A, Section 2 for cross country alongside Central, Auburn, Dothan, Jeff Davis, Prattville and Smiths Station.

Daleville and New Brockton will both compete in Class 2A, Section 1 alongside Cottage Hill, Flomaton, Goshen, Houston Academy, T.R. Miller, Mobile Christian, Opp, Providence Christian and Wicksburg.

In swimming Enterprise remains in Class 6A/7A, Section 1 with Alma Bryant, Baker, Baldwin County, Daphne, Davidson, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, Gulf Shores, McGill-Toolen, Murphy, Robertsdale, Saraland, Spanish Fort, St. Michael-Catholic, St. Paul’s Episcopal, Theodore and UMS-Wright.

Classifications are based on high school daily enrollment, freshmen through juniors, and re-classifications occur every two school years.

The area alignments for basketball, wrestling, softball, baseball, soccer, track and field, tennis and golf will be released following the close of those respective sports.

All of these moves will take effect in August of 2020 for the 2020-2021 school year and will remain through the 2021-2022 school year.

Area alignment for winter and spring sports will be announced following the completion of those seasons.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.