Daleville’s Tomar Hobdy (12) knocks down a layup against New Brockton.

The Daleville Warhawks (4-3) faced off against the New Brockton Gamecocks (1-7) in the opening round of the annual Daleville Christmas Tournament on Thursday, Dec. 12, and picked up a 62-39 win to advance in the winner’s bracket.

Daleville and New Brockton went back-and-forth to open the game with the Warhawks holding on to a 12-9 lead at the end of the first quarter.

The second quarter looked almost identical to the first quarter with Daleville outscoring New Brockton 13-8 to take a 25-17 lead into halftime.

The Warhawks dominated the third quarter to take control of the game and go into the fourth quarter with a 46-22 lead. New Brockton managed to outscore Daleville 17-16 but still fell 62-39 in the first round showdown.

Junior Sincere McKenzie led the Gamecocks with 15 points, two assists and five rebounds, while sophomore Tomar Hobdy chipped in with 14 points, four assists and five rebounds in the win. Junior Peanut Bloodsaw added 13 points and five rebounds.

Junior Jordan McDonald scored six points and grabbed eight rebounds off the bench.

For New Brockton, junior Dillon Kelty led the way with 12 points and three rebounds, while senior Tariq Walked added nine points, three assists and four rebounds. Sophomore CJ Wilkerson also scored four points with three assists and six rebounds.

Daleville outrebounded New Brockton 39-22 and forced 14 turnovers. The Gamecocks also forced 13 turnovers.

Daleville shot 59 percent from the field – knocking down 19-of-32 shots – and New Brockton shot 8-of-28 from the field. The Gamecocks were 3-of-5 from three-point range, however.

New Brockton shot 14-of-27 from the free throw line and Daleville converted 12-of-18 free throws.

In other first round games, Pike County dominated Dale County 57-39, Carroll knocked off Samson 64-27 and Headland defeated G.W. Long 70-56.

Daleville then fell to Pike County in the semifinals 57-45 after a big fourth quarter lifted Pike County to the win. The Bulldogs outscored the Warhawks 18-10 in the final period en route to the win.

Hobdy led Daleville with 17 points in the loss, while Bryan Beckwith added 15 points. Daleville also handicapped itself by knocking down just 5-of-16 free throws in the final period.

Daleville rebounded by toppling Headland in the consolation bracket 67-64 to capture third place in the tournament.

Hobdy again led the Warhawks with a career-high 29-point performance, while McKenzie scored 14 points.

Hobdy – who averaged 20 points during the tournament – earned All-Tournament honors alongside teammate McKenzie. Carroll’s Elijah Terry was named MVP of the tournament along with All-Tournament honors alongside teammates Daniel Pruitt and Bryson Dawkins.

Also earning All-Tournament honors were New Brockton’s Tariq Walker and Dalton Shehee; Pike County’s Andres Burney and Amaghie Lampley; Headland’s Patrick Burke and Marqueze Reeves; Dale County’s Cole Weed and Keshaun Martin; Braxton Whitehead and Caison Long of G.W. Long; and Hayden McCoy and Braxton Brooks of Samson.

Carroll ultimately won the tournament. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.